PRESIDENTS AND MAYORS OF THE VILLAGE OF JOHNSON CITY

The Village of Lestershire was incorporated on September 15, 1892. On March 21, 1916, the Village of Lestershire was renamed the Village of Johnson City to honor George F. Johnson and his family. The Village changed from the title of President to Mayor in 1929.

Village Presidents

Peter Perrault (1892 – 1893) Lewis Jennison (1893 – 1894) Thomas L. Dunham (1894 – 1896) William H. Wilson (1896 – 1897) M. S. Squires (1897 – 1899) William Henry Hill (1899 – 1902) J. F. Chambers (1902 – 1907) Charles Fred Johnson (1907 – 1907) James A. Treet (1907 – 1908) C. M. Chaffee (1908 - 1909) Charles Fred Johnson (1909 – 1910) John M. Kennedy (1910 – 1913) F. M. Duryea (1913 – 1919) William W. Benjamin (1919-1921) Harley R. Brown (1921 – 1925) Ira L. Carpenter (1925 – 1926) John C. Banks (1926 – 1929)

Village Mayors

Robert J. Lampman (1929 – 1931) Leon E. Youngs (1931 – 1933) William W. Benjamin (1933 – 1935) Benjamin W. Ash (1935 – 1943) Fred E. Winters (1943 – 1946) Leon E. Youngs (1946 – 1948) Arthur W. Whitehouse (1948 - 1952)Donald E. Stocum (1952 – 1957) William F. Ott, Sr. (1957 – 1962) L. Leo Sanford (1962) James W. McCabe (1963 – 1972) Michael R. Savitch (1973 – 1975) Paul A. Silvanic (1976 - Resigned due to illness) Dennis McCabe (1976 – 1978) Thomas E. Williams (1978 – 1982) Robert P. Egan (1982 – 1984) Thomas J. Edwards (1984 – 1986) Edward Boncek (1986 – 1990) Donald Dutter (1990 - 1992) Harry G. Lewis (1992 - May 30, 2009) Dennis F. Hannon (June 11, 2009 - March 20, 2012) Gregory W. Deemie (April 26, 2012 -